Manaoag, Pangasinan

Right before bar review, I started my panata to Our Lady of the Rosary of Manaoag in Pangasinan. I went there three times before my bar exam hoping for divine intervention. I was panicking my way through review and those trips gave me the breather i needed… more of an inner peace.

 

Formally known as Nuestra Senyora del Santissimo Rosario de Manaoag, the icon was reputed to be miraculous and is known to answer prayers for its devotees. Many bar examinees go out of their way to visit the shrine to light a candle or two for their intentions.

It’s easy to go there. You can reach the church easily through public transportation via Dagupan Bus. But it is also easy to just drive all the way there. There are alot of signage pointing you to the shrine’s direction. It’s just on the way from Baguio, Philippine’s summer capital. You just have to make a little side trip from the main road.

I was told that the area outside the church was not there before. There were seldom any stores and shops where you can buy rosaries and figure items. But now there’s a lot. I guess the area was commercialized  due to the shrine’s popularity. It’s not just the devotees who go there – I saw a lot of foreigners as well.

Here’s the mass schedule if you want to plan your visit:

Monday to Friday: 5am – 11am

Saturday: 5am – 12nn and another mass at 4:30 pm

Sunday: 5am – 12nn and 3pm – 4:30 pm


One thought on “Manaoag, Pangasinan

  1. Pingback: When The Heat is On, It’s Summertime and It’s Beautiful | Stories of My Wandering Feet (& Mind)

Leave a Reply Please!

