Well-Deserved: Singapore Vacation

After the bar, me and my friends headed down to Singapore to enjoy such a well-deserved break. What is more convenient about this trip is free lodging c/o my best friend!

Aside from the usual Singapore destinations like Universal Studios, Singapore Flyer, Night Safari, the Luge, the Merlion and Sentosa, we went there for a couple of drinks with old friends we haven’t seen in years! There’s a huge number of Filipinos working there and I am so surprised that a lot my batch mates had been there for years. I guess time flies so fast I haven’t had the time to check where they are now.

And also, let’s not forget the ultimate reason for this trip:

Wicked, the Broadway Musical has been in my bucket list for a while now. Since I don’t have a U.S. visa, we were so fortunate to be able to watch the show in SG. It might not have been the original cast (with Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth) but to re-live and see that Stephen Schwartz musical is a dream come true for me.

Wicked is a prequel to Wizard of Oz. The time is set before Dorothy came to Oz. It gives us a background why the Wicked Witch of the West is known to be that bad in Oz. Apparently, she’s not evil. She’s just misunderstood. And she was just a victim of a deceiving wizard who turns out to be her father. According to wikipedia, “Wicked tells the story in which these two unlikely friends grow to become the Wicked Witch of the West and the Good Witch of the North while struggling through opposing personalities and viewpoints, rivalry over the same love-interest, reactions to the Wizards’s corrupt government, and, ultimately, Elphaba’s (Wicked Witch of the West) public fall from grace.

And it’s also great to have seen it with friends who loves the musical. Right?

Anyways, I tried to visit Haji Lane to see the shops there but I was too early. The stores open by 12nn and we went there around 10ish. Sayang! I was saving up for a trip there to buy a few pieces of accessories and clothes.

So goodbye Singapore and see you in a few years. I’ll definitely be back to visit places I wasn’t able to see. Alrighty!

One thought on “Well-Deserved: Singapore Vacation

Leave a Reply Please!

